Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


Author
Search for:
Message

Offline
Salmon Unlimited Member
Salmon Unlimited Member

Joined: 07:17pm - Jun 27,13
Posts: 507
Location: nort side

Post Posted: 08:41am - Jan 21,15 
Top  
Does anyone know a computer repair shop they can recommend on the NW side? thanks

 Profile  

Offline
Chitown-Angler

Joined: 02:23am - Dec 3,11
Posts: 331
Location: Highland Indiana

Post Posted: 05:20pm - Jan 21,15 
Top  
Can you describe whats wrong? Guessing from the title I would presume it is running slow. First thing I would do is install and run the free version of malware bytes. Program does wonders on computers choked up with malware. Also if you are running internet explorer for your browser, stop right now and start running Mozilla Firefox. I also recommend ditching Norton or Mcafee and use AVG freeware. Does the same job,it's free and less resource intensive.

 Profile  

Offline
Chitown-Angler
User avatar

Joined: 09:41pm - Feb 16,03
Posts: 1614
Location: Des Plaines

Post Posted: 09:50pm - Jan 21,15 
Top  
Clean temp files and defrag if running slow, get more memory.

_________________
*In pursute of Big Browns*

Ice Auger Blade Sharping

 Profile WWW  

Offline
Salmon Unlimited Member
Salmon Unlimited Member

Joined: 07:17pm - Jun 27,13
Posts: 507
Location: nort side

Post Posted: 10:35am - Jan 22,15 
Top  
O.K. here's the story. Every morn. when I get on the computer she runs fine for about 5 minutes and then freezes up, can't do anything, have to shut it off with the big button. After that I have to restart about 3 more times then she finally gets her mind right. I was using malwarebytes then ccleaner (thanks dylan apollo) and now I have win cleaner(as seen on tv) I'm currently using google chrome. After I do the cleaning every a.m she runs pretty good... until the next morn. then I do it all over again

 Profile  

Offline
Chitown-Angler
User avatar

Joined: 05:33pm - Aug 28,11
Posts: 776

Post Posted: 11:45am - Jan 22,15 
Top  
Try disabling some of the programs from your start-up using msconfig.

 Profile  

Offline
Chitown-Angler

Joined: 02:23am - Dec 3,11
Posts: 331
Location: Highland Indiana

Post Posted: 10:02pm - Jan 23,15 
Top  
The fact that you said it runs fine for 5 min. on a cold startup has me thinking it might be an overheat issue. Grab a can of canned air and remove the side panel and blow all the dust out. If you haven't done it before you'd be surprised how much it accumulates over time and that dust really traps heat which will shut a computer down. Also a good idea when the side is off to make sure all your fans are running.

 Profile  

Offline
Salmon Unlimited Member
Salmon Unlimited Member

Joined: 07:17pm - Jun 27,13
Posts: 507
Location: nort side

Post Posted: 10:03am - Jan 25,15 
Top  
shaguna wrote:
Try disabling some of the programs from your start-up using msconfig.

Thanks shaguna, I think you got me on the right track. I uninstalled some programs that I don't use and have never used, this thing is flying now and I have'nt had to restart it yet today. I went to msconfig and there are a bunch of progs. that it says are not running. I didn'y know which of the running ones to shut off but the thing is running pretty good for now.

 Profile  

Offline
Chitown-Angler
User avatar

Joined: 05:33pm - Aug 28,11
Posts: 776

Post Posted: 12:10pm - Jan 25,15 
Top  
You're welcome.

 Profile  

Offline
Chitown-Angler
User avatar

Joined: 10:02pm - Dec 23,06
Posts: 2142
Location: Down South of here!

Post Posted: 05:29am - Jan 29,15 
Top  
Sounds like you got some fine advice here. If you're still having problems give a holler. We can at least diagnose if not repair pretty darn quick.

_________________
You really only ever need two tools in life. Duct Tape and Wd-40.
If it moves and shouldn't use the tape. If it doesn't move and should use the Wd-40.

 Profile  

Offline
Salmon Unlimited Member
Salmon Unlimited Member

Joined: 07:17pm - Jun 27,13
Posts: 507
Location: nort side

Post Posted: 08:13am - Feb 12,15 
Top  
dylanapollo wrote:
Sounds like you got some fine advice here. If you're still having problems give a holler. We can at least diagnose if not repair pretty darn quick.

Thanks for the offer to help, p.m. sent

 Profile  

Offline
Chitown-Angler
User avatar

Joined: 10:02pm - Dec 23,06
Posts: 2142
Location: Down South of here!

Post Posted: 08:07am - Feb 14,15 
Top  
How's it going Minnow?

_________________
You really only ever need two tools in life. Duct Tape and Wd-40.
If it moves and shouldn't use the tape. If it doesn't move and should use the Wd-40.

 Profile  

Offline
Salmon Unlimited Member
Salmon Unlimited Member

Joined: 07:17pm - Jun 27,13
Posts: 507
Location: nort side

Post Posted: 09:10am - Feb 14,15 
Top  
She's running great right now. The last time I restarted was yesterday morn.and still running good so far today. Thanks alot for straightening things out.
Guys, if you're having any problems with your computer , get ahold of dylanapollo, man he's something else, he can fix you up right away.

 Profile  

Offline
Salmon Unlimited Member
Salmon Unlimited Member

Joined: 07:17pm - Jun 27,13
Posts: 507
Location: nort side

Post Posted: 02:18pm - Feb 14,15 
Top  
dylanapollo wrote:
How's it going Minnow?

I sent you a pm this morning

 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic Latest Topics  [ 13 posts ] 

Board index » The Podium » Digital World
Jump to:  


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum