Author
Search for:
Chitown-Angler

Post Posted: 03:42pm - Apr 22,14 
I am also a bowhunter and while cleaning a doe had a thought.....removed bladder and heart and liver and cut liver and heart into 1" chunks and vacuum packed them and froze as future cat bait then put remaining gut pile in 5 gallon bucket with blood and used a food processor to liquifey this mess and froze it in peanut butter jars. I took out 2 jars yesterday and added 1/2 can of cheddar cheese whiz and flour and natural cotton to make a thick sticky dip bait. 1 of them I froze again and the other is ripening in my basement. I also have about 5 pounds of ground meat that will become bait. One of my best baits last year was chicken thighs cut into chunks and mixed/coated with sonnys dip bait and left to ripen for 2 days before using. I'm a mechanic and had an older guy tell me that nightcrawlers dipped in used motor oil was the best bait for cats? :? :shock I prefer not to put oil in the water myself.

Chitown-Angler

Post Posted: 04:18pm - Apr 22,14 
Sounds like a good idea! I've never been a big fan of dip baits or chicken liver but hey, I might not know what I'm missing. I usually lean toward a fresh piece of bluegill for my channel cats. Never had a bad night with that! The only problem I've had is getting my bait to stay out of the weeds in the summer months. I'm talking too when your wanting to sit it in one place. I am going to try some more fishing using floats to keep it up but I'm still at a loss on how to keep it up without a Float. Let me know how your bait goes though! Might have to try that myself if you get some good results!

Chitown-Angler

Post Posted: 04:38pm - Apr 22,14 
Dip baits and the like, chicken liver, cooked hamburger, lunchmeat, (seen that a lot) etc. foul the water (ponds,lakes) and should only be
used on rivers. On many, many occasions dip bait killed the bite when using other baits for cats. Here's a tip. Bar S hotdogs, cheap as can