Author
Search for:
Chitown-Angler

Post Posted: 01:09am - Jan 19,13 
Been a while since I've been on here...hello to anyone on that still might remember me.

I'm looking for fellas who are experienced and adept at catching Lake Michigan carp on the fly. I've never done it before and would like to learn from someone who does.
I have access to a remote Lake Michigan warmwater discharge with "flats" like conditions in NW Indiana that gets a good run of spring carp as well as the typical mixed bag of LM gamefish.

An 8wt, waders and a 2 mile stroll down a beach is all it takes. If this is something you're into, send me a PM and we'll go from there.

Chitown-Angler

Post Posted: 01:51am - Jan 19,13 
Check infisherman. I've seen a couple episodes where they target them with a fly rod, like they're fishing for bonefish. Hope this helps.

Chitown-Angler

Post Posted: 10:39am - Jan 19,13 
You have access? When did that area become private? Take some #6 sparse olive closers and rubber leg buffers out there in April and go look for singles and doubles away from the big spawning schools and you'll catch a few fish. They pull and take some figuring out but it gets boring after a few fish. Once you get a hook into those lips you never lose a fish. You don't need a sink tip and if you're losing fish you're snagging them. Been a lot of guys out there the last few years going about it all wrong. If you're doing it right you should be hooking fish about Evert fourth or fifth cast. Blind casting and pulling flies through mobs of spawning fish just snags fish and spooks them. Get your flies on the bottom in front of the right fish and they'll take pretty regularly. If you're losing hooked fish they're snagged.

Chitown-Angler

Post Posted: 02:08pm - Jan 20,13 
It's not private...it just takes a bit a of a hike through Cowles bog to get there. All I have to do is park at my in-laws in Dune Acres and walk down the beach.