Author
Search for:
Chitown-Angler

Post Posted: 10:43pm - Apr 24,18 
All the videos I have watched show pedal powered yaks trolling the big pond. I have a Nucanoe Pursuit and am resisting a trolling motor or the new pedal drive. Any of you paddle for power while trolling for salmon? If no, how about jigging instead of trolling? I am new to this, so be gentle.....

Chitown-Angler

Post Posted: 11:15am - Apr 26,18 
I paddled for 3 years before I finally picked up a Hobie. I caught a lot of fish paddling but I would never go back to it now that I have pedals. Do yourself the favor and get the pedals. you wont regret it. There are opportunities to jig or cast for trout and salmon but if you want to consistently catch fish through out the year trolling is very important.

Rob

Profile WWW  

Chitown-Angler

Post Posted: 11:35am - Apr 26,18 
I just got a Flint this year and have been paddle trolling behind Adler and in the harbors 6 times so far this season. I have two rod holders mounted to the freedom track in the front. It's definitely doable and relatively pain-free once you get your set up dialed in, but there are definitely some drawbacks that have me considering getting a paddle drive when they come out for the Flint later this summer, or just mounting a trolling motor on the back:

1) If you're running two lines and hook up on one, you're obviously loosing all forward momentum and your other line will sink to the bottom and quickly becomes a tangle hazard.
2) Optimal setup to avoid hitting your poles with your paddle (for me at least) entails having your rod holders positioned just outside of arm's length from your seat. With our NuCanoes, stability isn't an issue, so this means I usually just move up a few feet from my seat (paddling from the hull) when releasing my lines, then scoot back once I'm down.